MagSafe – What Is It and How Does It Work? Accessory Guide

In short

MagSafe is Apple's magnetic wireless charging system, introduced in 2020 alongside the iPhone 12. The back of the phone and the accessory both contain rings of magnets that line up automatically, so wireless charging is precise and faster – from 12 to 25 W, depending on the model. The same magnet holds a car mount, wallet, stand or power bank. MagSafe's magnetic profile became the basis of the open Qi2 standard, so magnetic accessories also work with some Android phones. One important exception: the iPhone 16e has no MagSafe.

If you have ever put your phone on a wireless charging pad and found it uncharged in the morning because you nudged it a centimetre during the night, you already know what problem MagSafe solves. This guide explains what the technology is, which phones have it and which accessories you actually need.

What is MagSafe?

MagSafe is a magnetic wireless charging and accessory attachment system developed by Apple. It is made up of two elements:

  1. A ring of magnets in the back of the phone (built into every iPhone from the 12 series onwards, except the iPhone 16e) and a matching ring in the accessory.
  2. A wireless charging coil in the middle of the ring.

When you bring the accessory up to the phone, the magnets pull it into the one correct position – the coils line up perfectly. That is exactly why MagSafe charges faster and more reliably than a regular wireless pad, where the phone lies “roughly in the middle”.

The name is not new: MagSafe first appeared in 2006 as the magnetic MacBook power connector. In 2020 Apple revived it for a completely different purpose – phones.

Which iPhones have MagSafe, and how many watts do they charge at?

iPhone model MagSafe power
18 Pro, 18 Pro Max, 17 Pro, 17 Pro Max, 17, 16 Plus, 16 Pro Max up to 25 W
16, 16 Pro up to 22.5 W
Air up to 20 W
17e, 12–15 (except mini) up to 15 W
12 mini, 13 mini up to 12 W
16e, 11, XR, XS, X, 8 no MagSafe – Qi only, no magnets

Maximum MagSafe power needs the new MagSafe charger and a strong enough adapter: 20–25 W needs a USB-C adapter of at least 30 W, 12–15 W needs at least 20 W. For the foldable iPhone Duo, Apple lists MagSafe and Qi2 charging at up to 25 W. The table is based on Apple's support page for the MagSafe charger and Apple's iPhone technical specifications.

How does MagSafe differ from Qi and Qi2?

Standard What it means
Qi (classic) No magnets, 5–15 W (iPhone – up to 7.5 W). You have to line the phone up on the charger by hand.
MagSafe Apple magnets, 12–25 W depending on the model. iPhone 12 and newer, except the iPhone 16e.
Qi2 Open standard with magnets, up to 15 W. Newer iPhones and some Android phones.
Qi2 25W (also called Qi2.2) With magnets, up to 25 W. iPhone 16 and newer (except 16e and 17e), Pixel 10 Pro XL, Pixel 11 series.
“Magnetic” without Qi Only a metal plate for a mount – wireless charging does not work.

The last row matters most when you are buying. Many cheap cases are advertised as “magnetic” even though they only have a steel plate glued inside. It holds perfectly well on a car mount, but it blocks wireless charging. A genuine MagSafe or Qi2 case has a ring of magnets with a hole in the middle.

Another common mistake is a “MagSafe-compatible” charger without Qi2 or Apple “Made for MagSafe” certification. It holds on with magnets, but an iPhone charges on it at ordinary Qi speed – up to 7.5 W, whatever wattage the box says. If you want faster wireless charging, look for “Qi2” or “Qi2.2” in the name. A Qi2 25W charger runs at up to 15 W with an older Qi2 phone.

Does MagSafe work with Android phones?

MagSafe is Apple's technology, but its magnetic profile became the basis of the Qi2 standard. That is why magnetic Qi2 mounts, chargers and power banks also work with Android phones. What matters most is whether the magnets are in the phone itself:

  • Magnets in the phone. The Google Pixel 10, 10 Pro, 10 Pro XL, 10 Pro Fold and the Pixel 11 series have built-in magnets (Google calls them Pixelsnap), so accessories snap on even without a special case.
  • “Qi2 Ready”. The Samsung Galaxy S25 and S26 series support Qi2 but have no magnets inside – you need a case with a magnet ring.
  • Older Android phones with plain Qi charging can use magnetic accessories with a magnetic case, but they charge at Qi speed.

For example, for the Galaxy S26 series there is the Samsung Carbon Magnet Case (S26), the Ringke Onyx Alfa MagSafe (S26 Ultra) or the cheaper 3mk Misty MagCase (S26). You will find more cases in the Galaxy S26 and Galaxy S26 Ultra sections.

Which MagSafe accessories are actually worth it?

1. MagSafe case – the starting point

The iPhone's magnets are in the phone itself, but an ordinary case weakens their pull, so accessories hold poorly. If you use a case, choose one whose name or description clearly says “MagSafe” or “Qi2”, for example the Tech-Protect MagFlex for iPhone 17. You will find cases by model in the iPhone 17, iPhone 17 Pro, iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max sections.

2. Wireless charger for the desk

The most popular way to use MagSafe: the phone snaps onto a charger on your desk or bedside table and charges, while you can still see your notifications. For faster charging, choose a Qi2 charger, for example the Tech-Protect A50 Qi2.2 25 W or the 3-in-1 stand for phone, watch and earbuds Tech-Protect A51 Qi2.2 25 W. The cheaper Tech-Protect QI15W-A33 with stand also holds magnetically, but the manufacturer does not state Qi2 certification, so an iPhone will charge on it at Qi speed.

3. Car mount with charging

This is where MagSafe pays for itself fastest. One movement – the phone snaps on, lines up and starts charging. No clamps, no fiddling. Mounts with Qi2: the ESR HaloLock Qi2 15 W and the 3mk Hardy AeroCharger Qi2 15 W, or the Tech-Protect V21 Qi2.2 25 W, which fits on the dashboard, windscreen or air vent. The cheaper Tech-Protect MM15W-V5 holds firmly, but the manufacturer does not state Qi2 certification, so an iPhone will charge at Qi speed.

Lithuanian traffic rules ban using a phone held in your hand while driving, so a good mount is useful every day. You will find more options in the car mounts section.

4. Magnetic power bank

It snaps onto the back of the phone and charges it as you walk – no cable or pocket needed. Popular choices:

You will find the full range in the power banks section, and how to compare capacity and power is explained in our power bank guide.

5. Magnetic wallet and ring stand

Handy, but with a trade-off: the wallet covers the magnet ring, so you cannot charge wirelessly without taking it off.

Does MagSafe harm the phone's battery?

No more than any other wireless charging. The only real factor is heat: during wireless charging the phone warms up more than when charging with a cable, and prolonged heat reduces battery capacity. Practical tips:

  • Don't charge your phone under a pillow or a blanket.
  • If the phone gets very hot, you can take a thick case off while it charges.
  • Turn on optimised charging in the iPhone's battery settings.

Are the magnets safe for cards and medical devices?

As for bank cards: modern chip cards are not affected by magnets, but older cards with a magnetic stripe or public transport cards can be damaged. Don't keep them between the phone and a MagSafe accessory.

As for pacemakers and defibrillators: Apple states that most medical device manufacturers recommend keeping possible sources of interference at least 15 cm from the device, or at least 30 cm when using a wireless charger. If you have such a device, consult your doctor.

How do you recognise a genuine MagSafe case?

  • The description says “MagSafe” or “Qi2”, not just “magnetic”.
  • You can see a ring inside the case, not a rectangular plate.
  • When you bring a MagSafe charger close, it centres itself and clicks into place rather than just sticking anywhere.

Frequently asked questions

Does MagSafe work with the iPhone 11, older models or the iPhone 16e?

Wireless charging will work, but the magnets won't: the iPhone 11, older models and the iPhone 16e don't have them. You can use a case with a built-in magnet ring, but charging speed will stay at Qi level.

How many watts does MagSafe charge at?

It depends on the model. The iPhone 12 mini and 13 mini – up to 12 W, the other iPhone 12–15 models and the iPhone 17e – up to 15 W, the iPhone Air – up to 20 W, the iPhone 16 and 16 Pro – up to 22.5 W, and the iPhone 16 Plus, 16 Pro Max, 17, 17 Pro, 17 Pro Max, 18 Pro and 18 Pro Max – up to 25 W. Anything above 15 W needs the new MagSafe charger and an adapter of at least 30 W.

Do I need a separate wall charger?

Yes. Most MagSafe and Qi2 chargers are sold without an adapter. A 20 W USB-C adapter is enough for wireless charging up to 15 W, while 20–25 W needs at least 30 W. You will find options in the chargers section, and how many watts to choose in our charger guide.

Does MagSafe hold the phone in the car on bumpy roads?

A quality mount with a full magnet ring holds it reliably. Problems arise when you use a case without a genuine MagSafe ring, or a very thick case that increases the distance between the magnets.

Can I use MagSafe with a PopSocket?

Not in the same spot – a PopSocket takes up the area of the magnet ring. There are magnetic ring stands that come off and don't get in the way of charging.


Related sections: Phone cases · Chargers · Power banks · Car mounts · Cables

Updated 2026-10-08 using data from Apple, Google and the Wireless Power Consortium. Items from our warehouse in Lithuania arrive in 1–3 business days, items from the supplier's warehouse in 5–9 business days. Parcel locker delivery from €2.49, free from €50, 14-day returns.

Straipsnyje minimos prekės

  • Pristatymas 5-9 d.d.
    Regular price €16,49
  • Pristatymas 5-9 d.d.
    Regular price €11,99
  • Pristatymas 5-9 d.d.
    Regular price €6,49
  • Pristatymas 5-9 d.d.
    Regular price €14,99

    Wireless 25 W

  • Pristatymas 5-9 d.d.
    Regular price €55,49

    Wireless 25 W

  • Pristatymas 1-3 d.d.
    Regular price €13,99

    Wireless 15 W

  • Pristatymas 5-9 d.d.
    Regular price €36,99
  • Pristatymas 5-9 d.d.
    Regular price €42,49
All guides
Previous post
Next post